Maintenance Settings

The following settings are available in the Settings section of the Maintenance page on the server:

Embedded Credentials - Allows publishers to attach passwords to published workbooks that will automatically authenticate web users to connect to data sources. The passwords are attached to workbooks and are only accessible on server. That is, when the workbook is opened in Tableau Desktop, users will still need to enter a user name and password to connect to the data source. When this setting is turned off, all existing embedded passwords are saved but are not used for authentication. That way if you turn the setting back on, users don't have to re-embed the passwords.

Scheduling - Allows publishers to assign workbooks to schedules. This option is only available if Embedded Credentials is enabled. When this setting is enabled, publishers will see scheduling options in the Publish dialog box.

Public User List - Allows web users to see a list of all users on the system. When this setting is enabled, a link to a list of all users is added to the left navigation bar. This is useful if your user list is not private and you want to let web users browse by user. When you browse by user, you can see all workbooks, tags, and comments associated with a selected user.

Saved Passwords - Allows users to save data source passwords across multiple visits and browsers. By default users can choose to "Remember my password until I log out," which lets them save their password during a single browser session. When the Saved Passwords setting is selected a user can instead choose to Remember my password, which saves the password across multiple visits and browsers so users will be automatically authenticated regardless of the computer they are using. You, as an administrator, can clear all saved passwords at any time. In addition, users can clear their own saved passwords.

Enable Guest - Allows users to view and interact with embedded views without having to log into a Tableau Server account. Permission can be assigned to the Guest User account to control the interactivity allowed for each view. This option is only available if you have a core-based server license. Also, it cannot be used with Enable Automatic Login, an option you can select during Setup (learn why). If Enable Automatic Login is selected, Enable Guest is grayed out.

Set default start page for all users - Set the page all server users will be taken to after they log in to Tableau Server. Individual users can override this setting on their User Account page.

Set default language and locale for all users - Controls the language used for the server user interface and the locale used for views. Individual users can override this setting on their User Account page. Also, web browser settings are the first thing that’s used to determine which language and locale are used. See Language and Locale for more information.

Reset all settings to their default values - Any of the above server settings that have been changed since Setup are returned to their original state.